Cold words

I am angry with you
I am hurt and insulted.
You throw your corporate words at me -
Clipped, impersonal, cold.
Say nothing more than you have to.

I don’t want to read them.
I know the truth is deeper than that.
That you feel more.
Why can’t you show it?
What are you afraid of?

Please be yourself
Open up to me and tell me that you love me too
Let me see in your words that you care about me
That you want to share your life with me
Just a little.

I don’t want essays
Or emotional outbursts.
Just a word here or there.
Something that lets me know you think of me.
That you also care.

I don’t see them, yet I know that they are there
Buried. Deep within you.
What will it take for you to let them out?
How can I show you that by giving them to me
You will receive so much more in return?

© Emily Page

14 thoughts on “Cold words

  1. Love the ‘throwing of corporate words’. I think it’s true that when someone steps back from a relationship they can become very business-like, to distance themselves…

    Sarah x

    #Prose4T

I like nothing better than feedback on my work. Please share your thoughts here. I'll always try to respond.

